top of page

Special Thanks to Kristen Hudak!

My trip to Orioles Spring Training last Tuesday was one of the best days of my life.

But, this all does not happen without Orioles Public Relations director, Kristen Hudak.

Kristen is a very nice and inspiring woman. Kristen travels with the team and works with the media covering the team. Her department produces the Orioles magazine and she edits the Orioles magazine. While in Sarasota, I sat down with Kristen in the Orioles practice dugout and asked her a few questions about her job. Here is some of our interview.

NP:

"How do you like your job?"

KH:

“You know I love my job, it's so much fun because I get to work in baseball everyday which is amazing and it's what I really really wanted to do. But it also has a lot of challenges. Every day is really different. I like kind of being surprised by whatever the day brings. It's fun and I learn so much from players and from our managers. I learn about baseball and I learn about a lot of other things to so, I really enjoy it.”

NP:

"What is some advice for people who would want your job?"

KH:

“Definitely keep practicing writing. The more you practice, the better you’ll get at it and when you are in college and looking for internships, your writing will really help you stand out. You know - especially younger people - you are always on these devises all the time and you're texting and you're using shorter forms of communication - so that's really important because we do that. All the Orioles social media platforms require really creative writing in a short amount of space. But what is also important is to not forget how to write sentences and paragraphs and stories. You kind of have to learn how to do both. I think it's a challenge for younger people you know because they're used to be working on their phones and being more 'short' so definitely keep doing that and get as good as you can at writing. Relationships are really important in this field. You always have to be nice to people and make sure you are being really polite. There are a lot of hard days and long days that are difficult but, if you always treat people with a lot of respect it will come back to help you."

NP:

"What is the hardest part of the job?"

KH:

“The hardest job I think is just being available all the time. It's very hard to just do all the things you need to do in your life. To get exercise and to get a lot of sleep and to get those things. You can but you have to balance that knowing that at any moment something might happen and you need to be able to respond to it because you are the first line if the media if something happens in the media you needed to know what's going on or just anything were to happen with the Orioles like they need to be in touch with me. And so even if I am on vacation, I feel a little bit like uh I need to check my email and make sure everything is OK and I think that to me, it's just hard to balance. It's not bad. It's just I am still learning how to balance it."

Thanks so much Kristen for making my day so great! Also, thanks for taking the time to do the interview and inspire me! I would love to have a job like Kristen's when I grow up!

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Twitter Long Shadow
    Serach By Tags
    No tags yet.
    bottom of page